Getting Dormant Pelletmaster Up and Running

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ajstephan

Oct 25, 2009
Washington State
I'm new to the forum, and new to pellet stoves. Bought the house 5 years ago and gave up on it after smoking out the house once. I have a Pelletmaster with a thermostat. I cleaned the horizontal section of the exhaust pipe yesterday, and cleaned out the inside of the unit. The unit worked, almost a little too good. I still have some smoke issues (better though) and the feed continues even when the thermostat is turned down.

I pulled the unit away from the wall and cleaned the exhaust pipe inside of the stove - which was 40% blocked. I completely cleaned out the ashes, and scraped the inside more thoroughly to get most of the creosote. I also chipped out the "clunkers" inside of the crucible.

However, I have a few questions.
- I am about to check the vertical exhaust up on the roof. Where can I get a chimney sweep brush?
- The seal on the door is nearly perfect, except for a small area on the bottom side of the door. Where do I get the seal material?
- The exhaust pipe and the seal are sealed with orange, rubberish adhesive. It looks like high temp exhaust manifold sealant for automobiles. Is this what I use or is there something better?

Thanks all, I hope to get this working once and for all this year!

Stephan said:
- I am about to check the vertical exhaust up on the roof. Where can I get a chimney sweep brush?