Getting Ready to Poke a hole in my roof

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

PunKid8888

Feeling the Heat
Nov 25, 2008
South East NH
I plan on cutting up my ceiling and installing my support box, and then weather permitting cutting the hole in the roof. My experience is not much when it comes to house stuff but I am extremely handy and will try to tackle anything myself first. I should have my cousin on hand for some of it, and he is a self employed finish carpenter by trade and he is usually pretty capable of any project. Layout will consist of a central located wood stove (Englander 13) which will be next to the exposed single flue chimney, but have a straight vertical chimney, 6ft of single wall then 9ft of insulated through the Attic and out (maybe a little more depending on peak). Should be a straight forward install I think.

So any last words of advice?

PunKid8888 said: