Getting that heat upstairs

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

AhhNewEngland

Jan 10, 2011
New Hampshire
Hello,

I am an amateur builder and built my own house from a First Day Cottage kit in 2007. It is a post and beam style 1400 sf cape, with an open floor plan on the first floor and 3 bedrooms and a bath on the second floor. Pretty tight and efficient overall. I have a Vermont Castings Resolute Acclaim centrally located on the first floor. Radiant heat is in the basement slab and under the entire first floor, mostly as backup. I also ran radiant under the second floor bathroom, which I keep low so it doesn't run much (I am pretty cheap).