Going to Buy a New Wood Stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Simonkenton

Minister of Fire
Feb 27, 2014
Marshall NC
Hello hearth.com! My first post.

I have been burning wood stoves for 40 years. Had a Sotz double 55 gallon drum stove for several years, what a great wood stove! real real big firebox.
In 1988 I built a log cabin in Georgia and installed a VC Resolute, that was a real nice stove.
For the past 15 years, up here in the NC mountains I have had a 43,000 BTU Waterford. Not real wild about it but it is OK.

Now, I am going to do an addition on my house and bring it up to 1,800 square feet. The new room will be a log cabin 20 x 24 with a real high cathedral ceiling. This room is designed for my new wood stove. The new log cabin will be attached to the main house with a 12 foot by 12 foot "dogtrot" which I am designing so that the heat will pass into the main house.

I have for years been looking at the Jotul Oslo. I love the looks and we have a nearby Jotul dealer and I just figured the Jotul was a real good stove. I just started reading reviews yesterday and, to my dismay, read some bad reviews on the web. Several people had trouble with the air intake lever falling apart, and the stove burning on full blast with no way to control it. Inexcusable for Jotul to put a stove on the market with a bad air intake lever.

Also I just read this review of the Jotul Oslo today on this forum: