Got my FIRST wood delivery..... BUT....

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

HearthKB

Aug 3, 2008
Long Island, New York
Well I received my first wood delivery of 2 cords today! BUT.... I'm really not sure if its seasoned as long as my dealer said it was. :-( Isn't the wood supposed to be greyish is color? I would say maybe half the pile seems greyish in color and dry and the rest looks like its been cut about 4 months ago. I'm afraid to by a moisture meter to see what the actual readings are. It will probably make me sick to my stomach.

I'm a total newbie at this so I probably got screwed. I paid $190 per cord which was a little higher than some other quotes I received but I went with this dealer because he seemed like an honest guy on the phone. Told me that this is the wood he is burning and his parents are burning this year. Plus, I told him I bought a Woodstock Fireview and it holds pieces up to 18" in length. He said no problem, I'll have my guys pick out smaller pieces for you. Well.... I found some pieces that are 21" or more!! Guess I have to break out the miter saw.

Here are a few pics of my wood. Can you tell if its any good by looking at the pictures?

IMG_2278.jpg

IMG_2279.jpg

IMG_2277.jpg

Get it stacked where it gets plenty of sun and wind. You'll probably be fine. Do the ends of the wood show some small cracks? Does the wood make a hollow sound when knocked on, or does it make a dull thud?

"Seasoned" can have different meanings to different people. Get it stacked. You'll probably be fine.