Hard lesson learned...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

brooktrout

Dec 23, 2007
Hamden, NY
Well, this is my first year burning wood as a primary heat source. I've always bought just a face cord each fall for the fireplace, which I did this year again. But in late December we put in the insert and needed more wood. A lot more. So I bought a cord from a guy who said it was seasoned. My butt! Struggled though that, then had two cords delivered this morning. I explained to the guy on the phone our dissatisfaction with the other guy's wood. He swore up and down his stuff is at least one year seasoned, most of it two. "Oh, yeah- I've got about three hundred cord for sale." Tell you what- this stuff is half rotted, all wet. I've come to the conclusion these guys think that logs sitting in piles for a year constitutes seasoned. Then they buck and split it to order. Lesson learned- can't buy firewood in the middle of the winter!

ain't that a groan !!! hows the new load? better I hope , been there, and done that....

Yeap... buy in the spring and plan on burning that the next winter or maybe even 2 years down the road. Buy from someone claiming to be selling green wood. The guys who "claim" to have seasoned wood probably will be more expensive and the wood wont be much better.

jtp10181 said:
Yeap... buy in the spring and plan on burning that the next winter or maybe even 2 years down the road. Buy from someone claiming to be selling green wood. The guys who "claim" to have seasoned wood probably will be more expensive and the wood wont be much better.
good peice of advice !