Harman accentra insert

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Steve T, Jan 30, 2013.

  1. Steve T

    Steve T
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Dutchess Cty, NY
    I have an Accentra insert. I usually run it on room temp manual mode. Last night, i turned the temp down to about 65 and the distribution fan shut off and never restarted during the night. It got colder than 65 and I am wondering why the distribution fan did not turn on. Any thoughts? It was down to about 60 this AM
     

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Mr. Spock

    Mr. Spock
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    199
    Loc:
    SW MA
    Hello Steve,
    It could be the placement of the temp probe. It can be tricky to find a good spot. The 5 degree difference could be the radiant heat from the stove making its way to the probe compared to where your reading the temp.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. subsailor

    subsailor
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    384
    Loc:
    Winthrop, Maine
    That's the reason I run in stove mode when the temps get too cold. It's hard for me to set the temp to keep the place warm due to my layout. Too much of a difference between what I set and what I get.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. Mr. Spock

    Mr. Spock
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    199
    Loc:
    SW MA
    It took me a few tries but I found a spot that works. The trick is to not try to get the actual temp to match the dial on the stove. Just use the dial as reference. For me it's about 10 deg off. So if I want 74 deg I set the dial to 65.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. subsailor

    subsailor
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    384
    Loc:
    Winthrop, Maine
    That's odd, usually they have to be set higher, not lower.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. Mr. Spock

    Mr. Spock
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    199
    Loc:
    SW MA
    My probe is on the floor against an insulated garage wall. Maybe that's the unusual part?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  7. subsailor

    subsailor
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    384
    Loc:
    Winthrop, Maine
    Yup. I tried the floor thing. Didn't work out at all.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. glenc0322

    glenc0322
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    86
    Loc:
    long Island NY
    he could have it closer to the stove so its hotter where the probe is then the actual room temp

    I also use stove temp all the time just never ran the probe call me lazy
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    Mr. Spock likes this.
  9. Mr. Spock

    Mr. Spock
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    199
    Loc:
    SW MA
    It is close to the stove, factory length far away.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  10. movemaine

    movemaine
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    61
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    With the insert, you don't have the dangling probe. It's on the left side and generally zip tied to the left air intake on the bottom left. So it could be influenced by any number of things. You can probably run a few tests to see how far it's off, but it's only a general rule of thumb (you could always hook it up to a t-stat instead if you want more accuracy)
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  11. FS1971

    FS1971
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    Loc:
    Dutchess County NY
    Having the probe on the floor I would assume would not give you a accurate read of the temp in the room. Drafts of cold air would always be on the floor and any entry door from another room or outside would always have a draft. Not to mention if you put the probe near the intake of the stove you are sucking in that air which should not give you a reliable read of the current room temp. I would suggest you position it as close to shoulder height as you can. I have the same stove in my house and only use it in stove temp. House is way to big and the open floor plan does not allow it to regulate the house temp. It is there to take the load off the oil hog. But you can always feel the cold draft being sucked into the fan on the floor.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

Share This Page