1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Harman accentra insert

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Steve T, Jan 30, 2013.

  1. Steve T

    Steve T New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Loc:
    Dutchess Cty, NY
    I have an Accentra insert. I usually run it on room temp manual mode. Last night, i turned the temp down to about 65 and the distribution fan shut off and never restarted during the night. It got colder than 65 and I am wondering why the distribution fan did not turn on. Any thoughts? It was down to about 60 this AM

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Mr. Spock

    Mr. Spock Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    514
    Loc:
    SW MA
    Hello Steve,
    It could be the placement of the temp probe. It can be tricky to find a good spot. The 5 degree difference could be the radiant heat from the stove making its way to the probe compared to where your reading the temp.
  3. subsailor

    subsailor Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,439
    Loc:
    Winthrop, Maine
    That's the reason I run in stove mode when the temps get too cold. It's hard for me to set the temp to keep the place warm due to my layout. Too much of a difference between what I set and what I get.
  4. Mr. Spock

    Mr. Spock Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    514
    Loc:
    SW MA
    It took me a few tries but I found a spot that works. The trick is to not try to get the actual temp to match the dial on the stove. Just use the dial as reference. For me it's about 10 deg off. So if I want 74 deg I set the dial to 65.
  5. subsailor

    subsailor Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,439
    Loc:
    Winthrop, Maine
    That's odd, usually they have to be set higher, not lower.
  6. Mr. Spock

    Mr. Spock Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    514
    Loc:
    SW MA
    My probe is on the floor against an insulated garage wall. Maybe that's the unusual part?
  7. subsailor

    subsailor Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,439
    Loc:
    Winthrop, Maine
    Yup. I tried the floor thing. Didn't work out at all.
  8. glenc0322

    glenc0322 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    626
    Loc:
    long Island NY
    he could have it closer to the stove so its hotter where the probe is then the actual room temp

    I also use stove temp all the time just never ran the probe call me lazy
    Mr. Spock likes this.
  9. Mr. Spock

    Mr. Spock Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    514
    Loc:
    SW MA
    It is close to the stove, factory length far away.
  10. movemaine

    movemaine Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    480
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    With the insert, you don't have the dangling probe. It's on the left side and generally zip tied to the left air intake on the bottom left. So it could be influenced by any number of things. You can probably run a few tests to see how far it's off, but it's only a general rule of thumb (you could always hook it up to a t-stat instead if you want more accuracy)
  11. FS1971

    FS1971 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Loc:
    Dutchess County NY
    Having the probe on the floor I would assume would not give you a accurate read of the temp in the room. Drafts of cold air would always be on the floor and any entry door from another room or outside would always have a draft. Not to mention if you put the probe near the intake of the stove you are sucking in that air which should not give you a reliable read of the current room temp. I would suggest you position it as close to shoulder height as you can. I have the same stove in my house and only use it in stove temp. House is way to big and the open floor plan does not allow it to regulate the house temp. It is there to take the load off the oil hog. But you can always feel the cold draft being sucked into the fan on the floor.

Share This Page