harman esp probe?

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by ivanhoe, Jul 29, 2013.

  1. ivanhoe

    ivanhoe
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    24
    Loc:
    great white northern ontario
    Hi,
    I'm finally getting to switching my ESP probe on my Accentra and the dealer sold me the red wire one(3-20-00844) with a chart to change my dip switch setting. I am having a hard time putting the new one in the exhaust hole. Upon my inspection, the new one is slightly thicker in diameter. Is this normal and do i have to drill the hole to enlarge?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    interesting.....in changing literally dozens of these things, I haven't seen this.....yes, you can drill it out slightly
     
  3. ivanhoe

    ivanhoe
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    24
    Loc:
    great white northern ontario

    that's what i want to hear! thx!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. MountainSean

    MountainSean
    Expand Collapse
    Credo Quia Absurdum

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    61
    Loc:
    Tonopah, NV
    Older Accentras used a black wired ESP which was skinnier than the newer red wired ones. They are basically interchangeable except for the size difference and dipswitch settings.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,459
    Likes Received:
    772
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    Chnage dip switch #5 to on!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    yup, but only for the RED wire ESP.......FWIW, for a short while, there was a thicker black wire ESP probe as well, but not for very long......dipswitch 5 off for that one
     
  7. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,459
    Likes Received:
    772
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    good to know.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. ivanhoe

    ivanhoe
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    24
    Loc:
    great white northern ontario

    that's the dip switch number to change on the USA model with circuit board # 3-89-05374 which is the one i have. I have another sheet which says to have the dip switch #5 on ON with the other board #'s when using the red wire ESP probe and in OFF position for any other ESP probes.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  9. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    there have been MANY board revisions to that particular board, and they do affect the dipswitch settings.....always advisable to ask which revision board the owner has, BUT the red wire probe has ALWAYS been with the switch #5 set to ON, in all board revisions so far. The differences of the boards mostly affect the other dipswitch settings....
     
  10. ivanhoe

    ivanhoe
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    24
    Loc:
    great white northern ontario

    Very true, i would have to scan my sheet to show the other board #'s.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  11. ivanhoe

    ivanhoe
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    24
    Loc:
    great white northern ontario
    here's a pic of the sheet!
     

    Attached Files:

    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  12. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    useful, except there have been two revisions since your sheet was produced....last I checked there was an E revision as well, and that's been awhile......
     
  13. ivanhoe

    ivanhoe
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    24
    Loc:
    great white northern ontario
    I somewhat put the stove back together to see if the new ESP probe would fix my exhaust fan staying on syndrome when in OFF position. It hasn't!:mad: So my replacement of the ESP was not the fix i was hoping for. Could it be my stove & room temp/ OFF rotating switch or something else i am overlooking?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  14. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,459
    Likes Received:
    772
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    IF your igniter is staying on it can produce 95::F heat which is what the ESP is looking for to stay on. If this is not the case then yer control board if whacked...unless for some odd reason there is some thing wired to direct power
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  15. ivanhoe

    ivanhoe
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    24
    Loc:
    great white northern ontario
    The igniter is not installed so no heat from this source. In the past, when plugging the stove after a summer of rest it would show power on with no fans running in the OFF position. Fans would come on after the temp knob turn to room or stove temp was selected. I will try replace the dash-pot switch to see if that is the problem.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

Share This Page