1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Harmen Accentra Insert with or without OAK

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by bee_2102, Apr 2, 2013.

  1. bee_2102

    bee_2102 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Loc:
    Western PA
    I may be interested in installing and OAK to my Accentra Insert. The problem is that both of the dealers in my area have never installed one. The dealer who did install mine didn't even know about the kit that is available through Harman. Can anyone comment on how difficult of a task it may be to install one myself? Are there others out there who own inserts who can comment on going to an OAK? I can't drill a hole in the chimney either as it runs up through my garage as I have a basement install. Thanks

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather Guest

    Why do you think you need an OAK?
  3. bee_2102

    bee_2102 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Loc:
    Western PA
    I don't know if I do need one or if I could even benefit having one
  4. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather Guest

    might cost a pretty penny to find out it wont help you at all........
  5. notch

    notch Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Loc:
    7 miles north of Boston
    Long after the flame in the burn pot is gone and the stove has gone cold, the combustion fan is still running, happily pulling warm air out of my house and right up the chimney. It bugs me, and so I will be installing an OAK this summer. Then it won't bug me. Worth every penny.
    Justin M likes this.
  6. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    I say "With"

    Can't hurt, and can only help. As Notch noted above, throwing heated air out the chimney is what got me. I want to keep my heat inside. It's not just when the fire dies, it ALL The time the stove is running. From start up to shut down its sucking air out of your home.

    My pennies.
    Brokenwing and smoke show like this.
  7. Justin M

    Justin M Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    276
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    x2
    I have to search for a dealer that has actually installed one before as well.
  8. Boobo0

    Boobo0 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    104
    Loc:
    Eastern Ma
    How in the hell do dealers not know how to install these things? How you can trust any of their knowledge if they don't understand the "in's and out's" of an OAK......very strange

    I say it's a no-brainer to install one, unless you don't care about heat loss (which I doubt)? The thing is, being in a chimney, it'll be more involved the just being able to shoot it out a wall.

    I installed mine in a wood framed enclosure, so it was a piece of cake to get a 3' run of flex hose and drill a hole in the wall. I'm no dealer but I'm pretty handy (I'm a GC), so all it took was a little research on the OAK install and it was easy after that. I'm still scratching my head that the dealer claims ignorance to installing it correctly.
  9. Boobo0

    Boobo0 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    104
    Loc:
    Eastern Ma
    I can't imagine that would be the result. That is unless he keeps his windows open all winter long :p
    DexterDay and Brokenwing like this.
  10. bee_2102

    bee_2102 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Loc:
    Western PA

    That's is what I don't get either. The dealer who installed mine knew nothing about it and I called another dealer who was very firm in saying you don't need one. I can't see how it wouldn't be beneficial. I imagine you would get a cleaner burn with less creosote build up in the burn pot? I know that the manual recommends you block off the damper when installing the OAK, but as of now, the installer only pack it with insulation. Is it a must to block it off? Also, are there any issues with moisture when you have an OAK?
  11. Lake Girl

    Lake Girl Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3,498
    Loc:
    NW Ontario
    So this is why many dealers say you don't need one ... I vote OAK, made a difference for me:)

    If you use the search at the top of the page, you should find out other threads on how to block off damper and cap configurations for exhaust and OAK. Should also have info in the owner's manual or with the install directions for the brand of pipe. A little internet research will help.

    Harman recommends outside air.... in the manual:p A steel plate is supposed to be installed in chimney as well for all installs - not just insulation. Review your install.

    http://hearthnhome.com/downloads/installManuals/Accentra_Insert.pdf
    Lousyweather likes this.
  12. Boobo0

    Boobo0 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    104
    Loc:
    Eastern Ma
    It's not just that.....If you don't have an OAK, the stove will draw your already heated air from inside and send it out the exhaust (not very efficient). And that air will have to be replace by pulling it in from the area with the least amount of resistance (door, window, ect....), and that would be COLD air being pulled in.

    There has to be many discussions on here about it.
  13. bee_2102

    bee_2102 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Loc:
    Western PA

    I have read numerous threads on here about OAK's. I just want to know how hard it would be to install one myself and a ball park figure of what it would cost.
  14. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Is this a main floor install? Basement?

    My most expensive one is about $40 for the 3" rigid and a section of 3" flex, some clamps, and a cap.

    If you only need some 3" flex and misc hardware, under $20 easily.

    I have one on the Wood stove and Pellet furnace, both in the basement, and one in the Quad upstairs. The 1st yr with every stove, I didn't have an OAK. I added an OAK the 2nd yr with all of them and ALL made a difference.

    Here are a few pics to give an idea on how easy it can be (and cheap)!!
    2013-01-31_21-34-18_75.jpg 2013-02-03_00-09-04_269.jpg 2013-01-26_15-37-56_996.jpg 2013-01-26_15-38-51_979.jpg
  15. bee_2102

    bee_2102 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Loc:
    Western PA
    My stove is already an installed Accentra insert in my insulated basement
  16. bee_2102

    bee_2102 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Loc:
    Western PA
    What do you use for a block off plate and do you use regular insulation above the plate?
  17. Lake Girl

    Lake Girl Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3,498
    Loc:
    NW Ontario
    Page 23 &24 of the manual noted above: Install with OAK or into existing chimney
    The damper area must be sealed with a steel plate and it is recommended that Kaowool, non combustible insulation is used on top of the plate to reduce the possibility of
    condensation. Insulation alone should not be used to seal the damper opening.

    Installation with a liner, recommends plate.
    Check your install!!
    briansol likes this.
  18. Cincinnati Kid

    Cincinnati Kid Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    286
    Loc:
    Cincinnati
    Due to a house fire, I've had two Accentra inserts installed. The first insert did not have an OAK, the second one does. I can honestly say I see no difference in the performance of the stoves.
  19. Boobo0

    Boobo0 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    104
    Loc:
    Eastern Ma
    Why would the performance of the stove change? The stove doesn't care where it gets it's air from. What will matter is the big picture efficiency.......
  20. briansol

    briansol Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,913
    Loc:
    central ct
    Scott from PSS is coming out to do mine sometime this summer. Maybe we can co-ordinate the installs to save a few bucks on his travel costs.
  21. Aquion

    Aquion Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Loc:
    Portland, CT
    Justin:

    The guys from Cedar Mountain Stoves on the Berlin Turnpike did my OAK. They aren't a Harman dealer though. Check with Afterglow in Meriden. I've heard good things about them. They seemed very knowledgeable when I visited last fall.

    -Aq
  22. Justin M

    Justin M Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    276
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    If he is willing to come to Southbury I'm in. Let me know.
  23. briansol

    briansol Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,913
    Loc:
    central ct
    southbury is only 20 min from me.... if he's willing to come to me, I don't see why he wouldn't make te treck out to you too. Especially if he could do me in the morning, you in the afternoon or something too. I don't know how long it will take, but it seems doable with a 4 hour window or so...
  24. Justin M

    Justin M Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    276
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    Thanks. Afterglow is who I was going to call next. I will try them if Scott isn't will to travel this far.
  25. Evan_J

    Evan_J Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Loc:
    Southern NH
    Chalk up another vote in favor of an Oak. We ran our Accentra insert without one for the first season (none of the dealers I talked with thought it was necessary) but I ended up installing one mid-season #2. I can't claim to have noticed any real decrease in pellet use, but it did certainly cut down on the draftiness around the stove. And, with an 1800s house we've got enough drafts without the stove working to pull cold air into the house!

Share This Page