1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Harmon p60 first fire

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by freebird77, Oct 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. freebird77

    freebird77 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    282
    Hi , Last week we had our first fire with the new Harmon p60 pellet stove. Manual light. I have the room sensing prope up on the wall about three feet high, no extension on the probe. I had the stove on room temp and set the dial for apx 68 degrees, and the feed at three blower on low. My question is this. It was over 80 in the room that morning when we got up, and although it wasnt that cold outside, I thought the dial and probe was supposed to regulate the temp. We have a pretty tight moblie home, and like I said it was only in the thirtys that night. Also, it seems like I heared the auger run a lot, and it used close to have a hopper of pellets that evening. Im very new at this and would appreciate any help you more experienced operators can offer. Thank you, Doug

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. seaken

    seaken Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    580
    Loc:
    Shokan, NY
    I think this is the P61? The manual start version acts a little differently than the auto ignition version. The stove will not completely shut down it will go into a "pilot" mode, or low fire mode. So, you will have to adjust your room temp settings and feed rate until you achieve the proper balance between heat output and combustion efficiency. Since this is a new stove you still have some trial and error time left. Read the manual again and try different settings and notice the results. Ultimately, the stove may be a little over-sized for your space. You may end up loading the hopper only with enough pellets to do the job and let the hopper run empty to shut off the stove.

    Sean
  3. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    29,150
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    I would try it with the probe away from that wall. Outside walls are always going to be cooler/colder than the air in the room therefore causing the stove to keep cranking even after the room air reaches you temp set point. The room is warm but the stove doesn't know it. It is reading the cooler temp of the wall.
  4. pelletheat

    pelletheat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Try putting the room sensor near the air intake on the stove and use it as a return air sensor for room temperature air, unless you are already have outside air hooked to the stove.
  5. freebird77

    freebird77 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    282
    Thanks for the info. Also, the stove is a p61 manual light, my mistake. Ill try moving the probe back down on the floor, but it seems like it would only be cooler there, making the stove run even more. I do have an outside air source, I had to have this because we are in a mobile home.
    Also, has anyone used the fire starter squares instead of the pellet gel for starting your fires?
    Thank you all for the advice, Doug
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page