Hearthstone Heritage 8020 Newbie Questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

simianfever

Jun 3, 2010
Fairfield County, CT
Hi all,

Recently purchased a used Heritage 8020. I'm new to wood burning myself, though my parents used to often in the winter when I was young with a small cast iron stove in our kitchen.

Since its a bit hot to run right now, and I am waiting for the stove pipe to come in for connection to my existing chimney I have a couple maintenance/care questions. The previous owner was not the first, and ran the stove for three seasons. Said she never had to replace anything or had any problems.

1. There is rust stain (likely from a kettle) on the top of the stove on the soapstone itself, is there a way to clean this without damaging the stove or finish?

2. The ceramic baffle looks good from what I can see without taking it out, but the blanket over it is pretty beat up, is this something that typically gets replaced?

3. Since it hasn't had any replacement parts in three years, is their anything I should look for? The door seal on the side door is completely tight, the front door I can get a dollar bill out of with a good slow hard pull, not easy but it comes through eventually.

Not at home now, but happy to provide pics if necessary. Any and all advice welcome. This will likely be the first of many questions I have going forward provided I can't find the answer somewhere previously posted. Thanks!

simianfever said:
Hi all,