Heavy Smoking After Reloading

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

69_Eliminator

Nov 26, 2013
Cincinnati, Ohio
Hello All! I am a newbie as this is my first season heating with wood. I bought an old Aurora fireplace insert about a month and a half ago.

I have been trying to do as others have said to not keep adding wood to the fire, but fill it up and let it burn down to coals and then load it up again. The problem I'm having is that it is putting off a heavy smoke cloud for about 20 or 30 minutes after I load it up. It is also smoking like this or worse when I load it tight for the overnight burn.

My wood is oak that is reading 18%-20% on my MM. After the load has been burning for a while I have gone out and looked at the chimney and I can barely see any smoke.

I feel like a real A-hole smoking the neighborhood out. Yesterday I was a half hour late leaving because I didn't want to leave with it smoking heavily. I like burning and I know this year will be a learning curve, but I'm get frustrated with this old dragon!

Is this just the nature of the beast/smoke dragon or is there something I can do to lessen the heavy smoking after reloading?

Any and all tips are appreciated.

Thanks!