Help a Newbie with an EPA insert

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Bray

Dec 8, 2009
Central Kentucky
I am no stranger to the world of wood cutting and wood stoves. I grew up with and ugly fire breathing Ashley. However, when it comes to an insert (especially the new EPA wood burning inserts) I am a newbie. My wife and I purchased a new 2400 sq ft home with a large fireplace. The first thing I thought of would be how great it would be to have an insert in there. The first thing she thought was how pretty the fireplace was. After our first electric bill (heat pump) she agreed on an insert provided it was "pretty" and had a big fire veiwing area to watch the fire. I have talked with various local dealers who have completely ignored what we were looking for and were more interested in pushing their inventory. I have read this forum, searched the pages, and absorbed a lot of knowledge. I have started narrowing the list of potential prospects. We are looking at the Lopi Declaration and freedom bay, the Jotul Rockland, the Osburn 2200, and the Napoleon 1402. I like the Osburn the best but haven't seen much about them on here and don't have a dealer locally. Have any of you bought online and had it shipped? My wife really likes the look of the enamel Napoleon. Any of you have any reccomendations for an insert? I know a blower will be a must since the ceilings in our main living area are catherdral and peak at 16ft. I have attached a picture of the houseplan. As you can see it is very open and would be perfect for a wood burner. Any help or advice is appreciated.

Attachments