Help....Hearthstone Heritage, Jotul 500 Oslo or Fireplace Insert?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

HearthKB

Aug 3, 2008
Long Island, New York
Hi Everyone!!

Let me start out by saying. since I'm new to wood stoves ANY help will be greatly appreciated!

I live on Long Island, NY and just checked the oil prices. $4.75 per Gallon!! I can't go through another season at these prices so I've decided to purchase a wood burning stove to heat the downstairs of my home. Downstairs is about 1,600 sq ft. Total sq. ft of the home is about 2,200. The downstairs has a pretty open floor plan from the den to dining room to kitchen to living room. The kids play room and my office is towards the back of the house. Both have doors that I will keep open, hoping the heat will reach these rooms. I have a fireplace in my living room which I never use because of its inefficiency.

I went to two wood stove places and got different opinions (of course).
1) One place said to go with the Hearthstone Heritage because of its ability to heat for up to 12 hours. Plus it has a nice even heat distribution. The 12 hour heat time has me interested because I leave the house for work at 5:00am and don't return till about 6:00pm. There is usually someone home who can feed the stove but just in case they aren't, I would like it to burn as long as possible. The Heritage will cost about $5,000 which includes installation, piping materials, hearthpad etc.