Help me assemble an Esse Ironheart

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tuolumne

Mar 6, 2007
Vermont
I am not technically incompetant by any means, but the Esse manual lacks a good deal (can't blame translation issues here) and I have a few extra pieces that aren't shown in the exploded diagrams. First, there appears to be a secondary damper on the flue connection box. It does not totally block the opening, but would certainly restrict the draft. It has only two positions. I am sure I have it installed correctly, but what is the function? At the front of the flue connector is a removable iron skirt. I assume this is for inspection? There is a piece of lightgage metal with fireproof insulation glued to it that fits this opening. Should the insulation be in or out? Also, I have two cap screws (approx. 1/4" bolts x 2" long with allen head) that do not appear to have a home. Lastly, there are two rods describing a rough Z-shape that are threaded at one end. What are these and where do they go? None of these parts appear on the diagram. Anything else I should know before loading her up?

Bump....I burned all day today without these parts installed. This cook stove is unbelievable. The burn control is great, glass stays clear, and there is a suprising amount of control for oven temps by diverting the flue gas. However, I still don't know where those parts belong....no mention of them in the instructions or diagrams.