Help sizing a pump

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Tim S.

Oct 20, 2014
wv
With an outside wood boiler when sizing a pump do you add in elevation head with your pressure drop of an open system using 1/2 inch pex in concrete floor.

Thanks, Tim (Nubie to the forum)

You're in the right place Tim. I'm not a pro installer but don't want you to feel ignored. Pretty busy this time of year for the pros, but hopefully they'll chime in so I don't tell you something wrong. To size the pumps in our system I used the Taco pump sizing datasheet (TD10). Those calcs do not consider elevation change for our types of systems probably because length of run (friction) and turns (ells) dominate head loss. Somewhere in your circuit water is going downhill because once it went uphill. Does make me wonder if its a factor in skyscrapers, but I doubt you care about that.

Oh.... and welcome. Come and hang out.

Welcome. Definitely the right type of forum.

Perhaps we didn't understand the question. As long as the pump is in a circuit then the elevation at the highest point in the circuit doesn't affect the head that the pump sees.

Thanks for the reply's, okay I take it elevation head balances itself out. I looked at the TD10, Q=btu/hr and delta T=20 degree difference on supply and return. Is Q what the outside wood boiler is capable of putting out in btu/hr or how is Q arrived at.
Thanks again, Tim