1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Help Stihl 034 wont run

Post in 'The Gear' started by jchristie600, Mar 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jchristie600

    jchristie600 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    butler County, pennsylvania
    Hello everyone,

    I'm new to this site. New to wood burning and chain saws. I have a Stihl 046 that runs great and a 034 that barely runs at all. The only way I can get the 034 started is to pour some gas into the cylinder then hurry and put the spark plug back in. Once it starts it runs great for about 1 minute. Then after a minute it will idle fine but as soon as you hit the gas it boggs down. Does anybody have any idea what is wrong?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. TMonter

    TMonter Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,399
    Loc:
    Hayden, ID
    Best guess is it's something fuel input related. You could likely take it to a local shop and have the carburetor rebuilt for about 50-60 dollars or if you are knowledgeable buy a carb kit and do it yourself.

    Other things to check:

    Fuel Filter in tank clean?

    Air Filter Clean?

    Air leaks on intake boot?

    When my 056 had issues I was too busy to mess with it so I just had it rebuilt (the carburetor) at the local shop for $58 bucks and it runs great.
  3. jchristie600

    jchristie600 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    butler County, pennsylvania
    I just cleaned the air filter and that helped ZERO. There is one other thing that puzzles me. Once I get it running I notice that I have chain oil coming out of the top of the cover. I am going to call the local shop tomorrow and see if I can get a carb kit.
  4. TMonter

    TMonter Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,399
    Loc:
    Hayden, ID
    Make sure you also get a new one of the in tank fuel filters. The cost should only be about 4-6 bucks.

    Make sure you have fresh fuel mix when you try and run it.
  5. kevin j

    kevin j Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    550
    Loc:
    minnesota us
    while it's apart, change the fuel line and the impulse line also.

    what do you mean oil outof top cover? bar oil?
  6. tkirk22

    tkirk22 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    299
    Loc:
    VA Mountains
    What is the function of the impulse line?
  7. taxidermist

    taxidermist Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,031
    Loc:
    Fowlerville MI
    Two main things with these saws #1 they get holes in the fuel line where it goes into the tank and#2 on the bottom of the carb there is a small hole in a silver plate make sure that is not clogged with saw dust.. NEVER!!!!!! blow your air cleaner out with compressed air it will open the air filter up and allow larger micron particals into your motor. Just clean with a tooth brush. Let us know what you find. Here is also a trick I learned at a local saw shop.....If you have it good and flooded take the spark plug and heat it cherry red with a torch and hurry up and put it back in the saw and try to start it. It works great!!!!!


    Rob
  8. bill*67

    bill*67 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    133
    Loc:
    upper michigan
    first off, check the compression, please install a new plug as the old one could be gas fouled, you should have the crankcase pressure and vaccum tested, check the fuel line and impulse hose, the impulse hose is like the fuel pump on your car, it gets pressure from the crankcase to operate the diaphram in the carb. check the adjustment screws on the carb and make sure they are set right so the engine runs at the right rpm, please use a tach! compression has to be over 100 psi to run properly.let us know how you make out!
  9. jchristie600

    jchristie600 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    butler County, pennsylvania
    Well I haven't had a chance to mess with the saw at all since I first posted about it. Hopefully tonight I can tinker a little. I will keep you updated. Thanks for all the help.
  10. reaperman

    reaperman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    168
    Loc:
    Central Minn
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page