1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Help with pipe install (appliance adapter)

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by trudd, Jul 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trudd

    trudd Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Loc:
    Rhode Island
    Hi everyone, I recently purchased a Country Flame Harvester and have been getting ready to install it. I picked up a simpson duravent 3" pellet vent kit. I can not get the appliance adapter inserted into the stove. It simply does not fit. The stove calls for 3 or 4" pipe so I did not screw up there. I measured the pipe that exits the stove. It is 3". I also measured the inner opening of that same pipe. It's about 2 3/4" maybe a little more. Is this normal? Should the inner opening be 3" and not the overall diameter? Is it okay to bend the male adapter so that it will fit in the stove? I actually have tried this, this adapter piece is pretty mangled and it STILL won't fit in the stove. Even if it did I don't know that I'd feel safe about connecting them this way. Anyway, any advice would be appreciated. I plan on calling Country Flame and Simpson on Monday. My gut tells me that the stove is fine and that the appliance adapter should be smaller in diameter.

    Thanks,
    Dave

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. trudd

    trudd Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Loc:
    Rhode Island
    Anyone?......I take no one has had this problem?
  3. slls

    slls Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,457
    Loc:
    central maine Lat 45
    I have the simpson pro kit, stove adapter #3PVP-ADBK and the inner pipe measures 3 inches. Have no stove so not sure what my stove pipe size will be.
  4. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    29,148
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    On my pellet stove the inlet is just a tad under three inches and the inside pipe of the Simpson appliance adapter fits snugly over the outside of it.

    You stove's manual shows a adapter from the manufacturer with a part number on it. Do you have that.
  5. jtp10181

    jtp10181 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,724
    Loc:
    Madison, WI
    The Quad units we install actually go together better without the stove adaptor. We just take the first piece of pipe and jam it onto the collar with some silicone. It is a pretty tight fit and doesn't leak if sealed well. I saw that adaptor on the Simpson catalog and ordered it for a few jobs, the guys brought it back and said it was useless.
  6. trudd

    trudd Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Loc:
    Rhode Island
    Thanks for the replies everyone.
    I could have probably fit the duravent over the stove's exhaust pipe (meaning the male adapter goes over the exhaust pipe rather than into it) but I didn't think this would be okay. I may give it a try if it has worked for other people.

    The only thing I could find in the manual was a part number for a piece manufactured by metal-fab. I called Country Flame to ask them about it.

    I did experiment with putting the cleanout tee and other pieces directly onto the stoves exhaust. There is definitely more give in the duravent and they at least start onto the exhaust but are very tight. I think I may be forcing one of these into place as suggested by jtp10181

    I did call country flame and hopefully they will return my call. Thanks again everyone I really appreciate it. I'll keep you posted.

    Dave
  7. slls

    slls Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,457
    Loc:
    central maine Lat 45
    Use high temp sealer, it is mandatory.
  8. Dougsey

    Dougsey Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    335
    Loc:
    Epping, NH
    I didn't use the adapter on my Accentra... put the cleanout T right on the exaust outlet.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page