Hi just wanted to introduce myself..

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

kniffin50

Aug 9, 2008
in the notch- ct.
My name is Rusty and i've been burning stuff since i was 6, i'm 55 now. I have been coming to this site for many years now.some great things happen here! Right now I'm in the market for a stove. I've heated my 2000sq. ranch with a regencey middle of the range insert firplace model.I have the basement plumbed for a stove (hole cored thimble installed ready to go up the side of the house.)I 'm looking at a Hearhstone Mansfield to put in the basemement. It's un finished and I know the concrete will suck up a lot. but what do you guys think.I have holes cut and vents installed for the bedrooms above the stove. I have had stoves in the basement before but this is the last stove i'm buying to put down there. I could bore you with bad choices but I WON'T.
Rusty

Welcome Rusty. It may be fine if the intent is to heat the basement. If the intent is to heat upstairs we'll need more info. Does the 2000 sq ft include the basement area? How open a floorplan? How will the heat get upstairs?

PS: If you are using a cord of wood a month to heat from the basement, figure one cord going to heat outdoors in an uninsulated basement over the course of the winter. Caulk the sill, and fiberglass insulate there. Then glue some rigid insulation on the walls and you will see a world of difference in heat retained.