high efficiency zero-clearance fireplace?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

fishboat

Hearth Supporter
Dec 2, 2006
Wisconsin
I'm new to this level of woodburning so please bear with me...I need all the help I can get. I recently moved to a house that has a cheap-open factory fireplace & would like to replace it with a high-efficiency zero-clearance woodburner. I'm researching the options available & ran across the Lennox Montecito.

It looks like Lennox has been buying market share in the 'hearth' industry for the last few years. From what little info I have run across on Lennox woodburners, people's opinions have ranged from "look elsewhere" to middle of the road to pretty good. Naturally this view must largely be a function of the companies they purchased as it doesn't appear Lennox has had much time to make their mark(good or bad). (Again bear with me, as I've only been able to locate bits & pieces of info).

The Montecito(small one, not the "Estate") looks to be a re-branding of the Bis Ultima(Lennox owns Security Fireplace). All the specs match up as well as the wording in the specs themselves. With the Montecito being part of launching the new(?) "Dave Lennox Signature Collection" I would guess the Bis Ultima unit had a new face put on it & got the name "Montecito". Taking existing products, particularly from a company that was purchased, and re-branding them into a "new" product is standard practice & inexpensive to do as compared to designing a new product from scratch. From what I've been able to gather, the Bis Ultima is a pretty well thought-of unit.