1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Home weather station suggestions

Post in 'DIY and General non-hearth advice' started by Flatbedford, Nov 21, 2012.

  1. Flatbedford

    Flatbedford Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,235
    Loc:
    Croton-on-Hudson, suburbs of NYC
    I'd like to buy a home weather station. I have dome some research but figured I'd check here to. I'm looking for temp, humidity, wind speed/direction, rainfall, and barometric pressure. I also want it to have memory and the ability to get the information to my laptop. To be able to access it remotely over the internet would be cool to being that I have such long days at work. I know this won't be a cheap setup, so I'd like to get a good reliable one. Tell what you have and how you feel about it.
    Thanks.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. tony58

    tony58 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    210
    Loc:
    Joelton,Tennessee(Near Nashville)
  3. greg13

    greg13 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    442
    Loc:
    CNY
    I have an Acurite weather station. Very simple wireless install. Mine does wind speed/direction, rain fall, bar.pressure, in/out temp & humidity. Plus keeps records, and has alarms.
    I found it at Bass pro last year around $70. I'm not sure if they have an internet accessible model or not, you could try contacting them.
    http://www.acurite.com/weather.html
    There is also Davis weather stations, I believe they have some that are internet ready, but hang on to your wallet, The basic unit I bought 20 years ago was almost $200.
    www.davis.com/DavisWeather
  4. greg13

    greg13 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    442
    Loc:
    CNY
  5. Flatbedford

    Flatbedford Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,235
    Loc:
    Croton-on-Hudson, suburbs of NYC
    Thanks. I guess the internet capability really bumps the price up. I'll have to think about how important that really is to me.
  6. semipro

    semipro Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,427
    Loc:
    SW Virginia
    We use some stations made by Peet Bros. at work and they seem to work well. We can pull data from the ones we use via a serial data connection. I'm not sure whether they offer a web interface.
  7. scooby074

    scooby074 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    393
    Loc:
    Nova Scotia
    i have a davis vantage pro2 that i broadcast on the internet as well. its been a very tough and reliable unit. all the davis machines are,,, dad has a davis weather wizard and its been great too. Davis is made in USA if that matters (it did to me)

    not Walmart cheap by any stretch, but its better to buy a quality, accurate unit once vs several cheapies, my first one was a $100 unit from walmart that was garbage. inaccurate and didnt last a year. $100 wasted. To get online with a vantage pro2 your looking at about $500 (including datalogger) depending on where you look. The datalogger for online is around $130 itself.

    mine was purchased through scientificsales.. great people to work with and best price i found http://www.scientificsales.com/weather-stations-s/1.htm?gclid=COTl08z05rMCFYYWMgod8HIAEg
  8. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    49,811
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA

    We've had the Vantage Pro for 5 years now without a lick of problems. We're very pleased with this unit and have added a greenhouse monitor to it.
  9. velvetfoot

    velvetfoot Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,979
    Loc:
    Sand Lake, NY
    If I may ask, what do you guys do with these setups?
  10. scooby074

    scooby074 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    393
    Loc:
    Nova Scotia
    Monitor and record the weather. I upload my data so it can be viewed by the public and the data also gets used by government (and other) agencies to help improve the public forecasts used by all. On top of that, it's just cool to be able to go online while I'm away and see what's happening at home. Going to the next level one could use this real time data to automatically control home heating, cooling and lighting.

    Currently Im recording site wind levels to see if a windmill might be in my future. I intend on adding UV and sunlight modules sometime to see if PV's might be in that future as well. Plus, with them I can calculate drying and UV exposure index too.

    You'd be surprised just how there are micro-climates within the larger area serviced by government weather stations. My temperatures and wind vary considerably from the government site located by the coast. The more consumer sites that feed this data back the greater the increase in forecasting accuracy.
  11. granpajohn

    granpajohn Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    655
    Loc:
    Central Maryland
    I've also been using the less expensive Davis (Vantage Vue). There are known problems with it that can be fixed, and avoided if you spring for the Vantage Pro2, as others have suggested. But I bought it when if first came out for about $100 saving.

    Now if I may briefly mount my soapbox...
    ...for temperature and wind, Siting is more important. The Vue mixes wind, dew point, temp, and tipping bucket rain gauge, all in one location. Wind and temp can't be well measured at the same elevation. I don't much bother with my wind readings, they're so sheltered. The Vue also has a very tiny stevenson screen which introduces significant warm bias into your temp unit. The only place I could put my Davis Vue for good wind would be on the roof of my house. Then I'd REALLY get warm bias. (I run 3 temp sensors, plus my old weather service mercury glass). So keep that in mind. Off soapbox.

    Most VP2 users seem happy with their instruments. If I had a better location, I might consider upgrading.

Share This Page