1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Honda eu2000i inverter generator pellet stove-safe?

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Charlie500e, Nov 7, 2012.

  1. Charlie500e

    Charlie500e New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Loc:
    Rockland County, NY
    So after many post-Sandy days of no power (i have power now woohoo) I bought a Honda eu2000i generator. I like this one b/c we have them at the firehouse and they're super reliable, quiet, and fuel efficient. I have a tiny house and I mainly need my sump pump to stay powered. If my pellet stove would be safe a little heat would be nice too. What do you think? Safe or asking for a fried board?

    http://www.campingworld.com/shopping/item/honda-eu2000i-generator-carb-compliant/34961

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. mralias

    mralias Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    863
    Loc:
    MA
    " produces a clean sine wave of energy " That's a good sign.
  3. St_Earl

    St_Earl Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,089
    Loc:
    millinocket, north central maine
    you are good to go w/ the honda.
  4. will711

    will711 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,221
    Loc:
    Pocono mts.
    There should be no issues, make sure stove is plugged into a surge protector.

    Looking at doing the same thing all my research keeps pointing to Honda or Yamaha good choice!

    I see you are in Rockland County my wife is from Stoney Point.
  5. Charlie500e

    Charlie500e New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Loc:
    Rockland County, NY
    Cool thanks guys!

    Yes I'm about 15 miles down the Hudson and a bit inland from Stony Point. They got hit hard.
  6. will711

    will711 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,221
    Loc:
    Pocono mts.

    No family left there , but plenty of fond memories sorry to hear that.
  7. LIpelletpig

    LIpelletpig Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    279
    Loc:
    Long Island, NY
    It's been running my Harman Accentra now for 9 days now post Sandy!
  8. Pelleting In NJ

    Pelleting In NJ Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    270
    Loc:
    Central NJ
    You could not find a better, cleaner generator to run your pellet stove with !!
  9. Hitch

    Hitch Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Loc:
    S.E. Pennsylvania
    Honda genny's are great. The one thing that popped into my mind when I read your post is to question whether you have enough wattage for your needs. Specifically, with regards to your sump pump. Honda's website guesstimates that a 1/3 horsepower sump pump needs 1300 watts at start up and 800 watts when running. A 1/2 horsepower sump needs 2150 watts at start up and 1050 watts when running. That Honda provides 1600 watts continuous, with surge to 2000.

    I have a 1 HP sump pump at home (wish I had something smaller), but it needs somewhere around 3600 or 3800 watts at start up. When Irene hit, I was using my parent's 3500 watt Honda and it struggled everytime the sump pump kicked on.

    From what I have read on here, maxing out your generator while running sensitive electronics is something you want to avoid.
  10. heaterman

    heaterman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,990
    Loc:
    Falmouth, Michigan
    Pretty much any brand of inverter type gennie is going to put out very clean power. That's what the inverter part of the equation does. You should be good to go.

    Be aware that honda rates their generators at peak power. What this means is that you should figure a a 25% reduction for sustained output. So if they call it a 2000 you should use 1500 for a 100% duty cycle rating.
  11. Charlie500e

    Charlie500e New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Loc:
    Rockland County, NY
    Thanks for the additional wattage/rating numbers. My sump pump is 1/3 horsepower. Based on what you guys are saying I just won't run the pellet stove and sump pump at the same time. That won't be a problem I could crank up the pellet stove for a few hours and the house will be "comfortable" for probably 12 hours.

    Lipelletpig, I hope you get power soon...but I'm reassured you're running this generator with yours. Odd/even gas days start for you islanders tomorrow!
  12. briansol

    briansol Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,764
    Loc:
    central ct
    You can always get a 2nd unit, and run the bridge, to double the output.
  13. vintageagain

    vintageagain New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Loc:
    Sussex Cty NJ

    I've got that model generator and have been using it on my Quadrafire Mt Vernon Insert wood pellet insert (I'm in Sussex County and haven't had power since Oct 29) . No problems at all. I've also got my fridge, dsl modem, linksys wireless router, 1 laptop, 2 cell phone chargers and an led light bulb in a lamp all without even reaching full throttle when in eco mode. I'm glad i bought the Turman pellets for low ash since i can't clean it as much as i would with others since heat is paramount!
    The Village Idiot likes this.
  14. a5t1

    a5t1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Loc:
    UP
    My research led me to buying a yamaha, EF2400is. Either the Honda or Yamaha are good choices. Yamaha has a gas gauge, separate fuel shut off and came with DC cables...either way.
    The Village Idiot likes this.
  15. Charlie500e

    Charlie500e New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Loc:
    Rockland County, NY
    Vintageagain, good to hear you can run all that with the Honda...but sorry you still have to!

    A5t1, I heard good things about the Yamaha. Fuel shut off would be nice to keep it running while the gas in the carb gets cleared out.

    You guys run regular 10w-30? I'm thinking synthetic since it takes so little and the oil will likely be sitting a long time between uses. Probably totally overkill though.
  16. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,062
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Hang in there, more CMP crews are headed out these are going to NJ.
  17. bugize

    bugize Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Loc:
    Skowhegan,Maine
    now,do you plug your items directly into the generator or do you have those smaller hondas wired into your breaker box like a standby?...looking to buy one after the first of the year
  18. johnny1720

    johnny1720 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    190
    Loc:
    The Great North East
    We have one of those at work that sat on a shelf for years because the fuel line was clogged. It literally sat on the shelf for 5 years before I messed with it. We use it all the time to install benches in the Park and we even used it this year to put decking on a pier in the middle of the lake. It took a dunk in the water and after it was fished out it ran great.
  19. PelletFiend

    PelletFiend Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Loc:
    Eastern MA
    I have the Honda 2000 generator too. Works great and powers my Enviro FPI great. My stove pulls about 480 watts starting and about 130 watts on high fan setting. Good choice and worth the money; it's more expensive, but worth it to have a 42lb unit that can power a lot of the main survival things. BTW - I put in a transfer switch after the storms last Halloween (We live in MA, and lost power for a few days), and have it tied to the Oil Burner (Hot water), Frige, Pellet Stove, kitchen Lights, and spot lights out back. Pretty much the stuff we need to keep going, just not all at once.....

    Good luck.
  20. m159267

    m159267 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Loc:
    East-Central MO
    Honda 2000 utilizing a transfer switch like PelletFriend. Here is a YouTube link that uses my exact setup. Works great.
    bugize and briansol like this.
  21. Charlie500e

    Charlie500e New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Loc:
    Rockland County, NY
    Thanks for the transfer switch info...that's a clean setup in the vid! Just not sure I lose power enough to warrant it....maybe down the road..
  22. velvetfoot

    velvetfoot Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,361
    Loc:
    Sand Lake, NY
  23. vintageagain

    vintageagain New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Loc:
    Sussex Cty NJ
    Power is back, it took 12 days.

    I have a 12AWG extension cord. I ran that into the house to a 15amp surge protector (the generator is rated for 13.3Amps so this was a good first protection). I then ran cords as needed from the single surge. Its a pain with wires all over but i didn't have to buy anything (other than the generator) to get the house powered. I'll be honest, i thought about a transfer switch or interlock but for such a small generator i wanted the easy of switching on the fly without being roped into a whole circuit.

    My parents run full synthetic on theirs all the time because to them is a small price to pay for a life saver. I would say that during operation regular is fine, but for when prepping for storage i would change the oil with synthetic.
  24. subsailor

    subsailor Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,439
    Loc:
    Winthrop, Maine
    Glad to hear you finally have power. I went 14 days without power back in the icestorm of '97. That's when I bought my Honda. Can't bat em. Never been serviced and will still start by the second pull .
  25. Stevekng

    Stevekng Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    324
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    I have used this Honda for my stove and there is no problem other than putting gas in it every 8hours, if the power stays off.

Share This Page