Hot water from your stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

electrathon

Minister of Fire
Sep 17, 2015
Gresham, OR
I am starting a new thread. I will try to explain what I did to install the hot water system in my stove. I will start by saying, I have a good knowledge of construction, plumbing, electrical, contracting. I am not a beginner when it comes to making things. If you are not comfortable with what you are thinking of doing, please step back and stop or regroup. Wood stoves can be dangerous, so can water heaters.

I have heated my home with a wood stove since I moved in in 1986. I always wanted to integrate the water heat into it and finally did in 2013. In the winter I run my stove constantly, it is able to heat most of the hot water used in my home.