house as heat storage

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

free75degrees

Apr 6, 2008
Boston Area
OK, so I in a way everybody uses their house as heat storage...

Let's say my tank temp is at 160*, it is early evening, I have a nice bed of coals with which I can easily get a gasification going, and I am thinking about loading the boiler with wood. Granted, I am a complete novice, but I think my strategy makes sense... I think I want to fill the boiler with enough wood to satisfy my heating demands for the evening and just barely get the tank to 180*. If I add too much wood, the boiler will idle when the tank gets to 180*, which would be bad. My thermostats are set to 70* and I am too lazy to raise the temperature when I realize I loaded too much wood.

However, I do have a nice ARM based controller a la nofossil, and I also have some nice digital temperature sensors gathering dust. Why not replace my thermostats with my temp sensors, hook them up to the controller, and write a program that basically says that if the house it at 70*, the tank is at 180*, and the boiler is still cranking out hot water, then go ahead and heat the house above the set temp of 70*? The boiler wants to burn, so why not let it? So what if the house gets a little warm, we would be effectively using the house as heat storage.

Does this sound like a good strategy?

It's not a bad idea, but beyond a certain point you're getting outside the comfort zone. Still, heating a couple of extra degrees will give you more time before it gets uncomfortably cool.