House doesnt heat up like it used to

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Cinder

Hearth Supporter
Dec 30, 2010
Outside Seattle, WA
Hello all.

I've been heating my house with a woodstove for 2 yrs, this is my 3rd winter. My stove no longer heats up my house the way that it did before and I dont know what has changed to make this happen.

I only heat the main room (kitchen/dining room/living room) and the bedroom. Everything else is closed off. The house does have high celings but I have ceiling fans which bring the warm air back down. Last 2 yrs I burned mostly fir and some maple and some was downed that yr (the maple) and some was downed a few yrs ago. I had no trouble getting my main room to 70 degrees quickly. (big older Lopi woodstove set into a fireplace, chimney has full liner)

I have burned some seasoned wood this yr, and some poplar split in Aug. & dried in the sun. None of it is heating my house. I can barely get the main rooms to 63-64. I do not know what has changed. I have tried adjusting the flue....that doesnt seem to be it. I cant think of changes to the house.

Does anyone have any ideas on what could be going on? I understand the poplar isnt worth much, but the better quality seasoned wood isnt doing much better. In the past yrs and this yr, the thermometer on top of the stove gets up to 800-1000....but this yr that doesnt heat the house. How can that be?

Thanks in advance.

Wood stove can handle pretty wet wood, even better when a bed of coals are present. Curious about stack temps, fans, filters, build up on any tubes etc.

Cinder said:
Hello all.