How long will that stove (or) insert last?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

WOODplay

Hearth Supporter
Oct 12, 2010
Lower Micigan
I was asked the other day (how long will that stove last?) With that being a good question I thought I would make a post and ask you… So how many years have you had your stove (or) insert :question: I have a 2010 Lopi Endeavor so I’m new to this. :)

A well built stove, burned correctly, will last a long, long time!

I currently burn an Oslo, which was installed in 2009. Unless wood burning technology changes drastically for the better; and I can't resist the "new and improved" models coming out, I expect that the Oslo will be the last stove I ever buy! (Except that I may put a stove in the basement to take the chill off there!)

As you can see in my signature, I also have two antique stoves - an Ideal Clarion parlour stove (1873) and a Kineo cast iron cook stove (1910). Both of these stoves are still 'like new.' I used both for about 10 years, and they were probably used for 70+ years before I purchased them!

If not abused a good stove should last 20 years or more. Depending on the design, there may be some maintenance required to keep it running like new. For example, in your Endeavor it may need a brick replacement at some point. But with some occasional attention you can expect to hand the stove over to the grandkids.