How often do you adjust your draft vent?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Andy H

Oct 4, 2009
Upstate NY
and what % would you say it's usually open? I ask because I've been having some issues with my new pellet stove not lighting about 20% or so of the time and have made a couple calls to the company

The last person told me that I need to pull the side cover off and open the draft vent all the way every time I start it and then when it's running adjust it from there. I'm not an expert but that does not sound right at all?

I rigged up a piece of wire coat hanger to the slide and it goes through the side of the stove so i don't have to pull the cover off every time so it's a lot easier but still...... that seems like something you should not have to adjust that often. Besides, when i play with it as it's igniting it seems to take off better if the vent is closed a bit

anyways, do you adjust your vent differently when it's starting and then readjust it after its running?

one more thing, would an outside air kit help at all with this issue? i'd still have to make the adjustments right?

I set my damper once and havent touched it again,I would say mine is about 80%closed.Having to adjust it every time seems crazy to me.

also, if it's too open then the pellets jump right out of the burn pot. Once it's started I probably close it about 80% like you but then the issue is that it doesn't want to start when it's that closed

I don't even think this stove has anything broken/out of adjustment..... i just think it's a very poorly made stove with a really bad design.