I am a Newbie Here!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

MrorMrsWiz

Hearth Supporter
Nov 14, 2010
SouthEastern, Ohio
Hello to all. I have joined this forum and another to try to better educate my self. I was in the maket for a wood/coal burner and have looked around & bought a used stove. I read about many stoves and really had no Idea of the variations and numbers. My wife wanted a pretty stove & I wanted a good stove.

I needed a free standing type & was almost ready to buy a wonder-wood. I looked at some cylinder stoves, a Rite-way and ended up with a CDW 288 which I bought for $500. It has all original receipts from when purchased new & many accessories which are brand new in the box. + 6 feet of Stainless pipe. It was a beast to load, we used to steel pipes & a lot of grunting to get it on my trailer.

I want to educate myself to safely install, operate & get all the benefits from burning wood. I have an unlimited supply of free wood, and access to coal at $85 a ton. I am going tomorrow to talk with a guy about trading a car for more stainless pipe, another stove (custom built out of stainless steel , Troy bilt log splitter with Honda engine & Still saw. All to be in good working order.

Well to start have I made good decisions and any advice & recommendations will be reviewed....

Thanks

Post pics!
Sounds like you're doing ok..but I really don't have a clue..lol.

generally,using a home made stove in your living area isn,t the best idea,if thats what it,s for.of course,ive heard of worse....