I need help with everything.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

railrunner85

Nov 12, 2015
Huntington WV
Hello, I am completely new to wood stoves and also to forums so please forgive me for my ignorance. I got a quote and was told my best option would be a regency 2400 flat top stove and complete install with 10 feet of triple wall pipe and 6 feet of double wall is around $5500 dollars. I have a 1600 square foot cathedral home and my main concern is being able to heat it above 65 degrees incase of power outtage. Again, ive no experience with wood stoves and no idea if regency is what i need. I want a quality stove thag will last a long time and keep my house warm. Any and all help is appreciated.

I looked at that stove when I was shopping 2 yrs ago and it is good but not the greatest. I would suggest that you check out the reviews listed here on Hearth.com and do some more shopping so that you are sure. The more you shop around, the more confused you will be BUT, eventually it will all become clear. :confused: A good wood stove should last many decades and you want to make the right decision.

You should let us know answers to these questions so that others can help out:
How well insulated is your home?
Are you burning full time or only when you need the heat?
Do you have your own source of free wood?