I thought I had burned green wood before....a real lesson

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

joefrompa

Minister of Fire
Hearth Supporter
Sep 7, 2010
SE PA
Hi all,

I got a nice load of wood from my dad's neighbor this past weekend. Said it had been cut down about 3 months back. Can't tell exactly what it is, but it's very heavy. The ends showed the wood splitting apart from itself, so I thought "well, some drying has occurred".

These came in .5-4" thick variations, as well as some 12"-20" thick trunk pieces i'll split for next year.

So I got my stove up to 600 degrees, got a nice coal bed, and used some .5-1" thick pieces in the process. Those did great.

Then I threw a 2"-4" pile on top of the coals....smolder....30 minutes go by.

I opened up the air all the way to get it spark....smolder, smolder, smolder....

90 minutes when by, full air open, and then it finally lit for me. Of course, it only lit for like 10 minutes and then went back to smoldering.

Holy cow. Now that's green wood!

I've used some wood I'm fairly certain is 25-35% M.C., and it's done ok. But if the difference between 30-50% M.C. is that severe, I can't wait to see the difference between 30% and 15%!

Joe

Are you forced to try to burn the rest of that green wood? Keep a very close eye on your chimney for creosote. Yes, you'll be very happy when you get those splits properly seasoned - loading on a nice coal bed and splits in flame before you are done loading the last split is part of the bliss of burning! Cheers!