If you could go back in time . . . .

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Vic99

Minister of Fire
Dec 13, 2006
MA, Suburb of Lowell
So I'm new to the wood burning world this year and have learned a ton from this site/forum. In trying to learn from the experiences of other it occured to me to ask you all this question:

Knowing what you know now, if you could, what would you have changed about how you burn/harvest wood now?

If you cut your own wood, suck it up and get a really good chainsaw to begin with. Leave the cheapo versions alone.

One of my biggest pet peaves that I have is being limited by my equipment.

My dad has always said:
"There is a price you pay for the price you pay."

It couldn't be more true!
-SF

I have a rural property that I harvest wood from. My truck and small trailer hold about a cord combined. It akes about an hour of driving each way and most of the day to process a cord from the tree to the loaded truck.

I learned that this is not an efficient way to collect wood. It takes too much time, too much work, too much money, and too much risk. The price of a cord is pretty decent here in my area so my future plan is to have logs delivered to my residential home or have firewood delivered and pay for it. For pure recreation which does have some value, I will still collect firewood from the rural property but I just won't try and do it to save money.