I'm Liking Slab Split Wood For My Insert

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

velvetfoot

Minister of Fire
Hearth Supporter
Dec 5, 2005
Sand Lake, NY
I ran across some slab split wood pieces that I'm burning now. What I mean by slab split is splitting the round to produce a rectangular cross section, of about 1.5"-2" thickness. (Note: I've been splitting like this for the last several years when possible but haven't gotten to use them yet, and just came across these splits.)

Anyway, I load my insert front to back and have found that it's easy to pack em in with this format, when needed.

PS: Another reason I split this way is because I split vertically and find it easier this way.

Yes. That's the attraction, plus easy handling with one hand, and easier vertical splitting. You can pack them tight, or not, if you like. I had big percentages of ash logs the last few years, and they split any way you want them.

you guys are having an easy winter so far this year....for the most part. i was up during hunting season, visiting the old homestead on alps mt road. was up at my brothers in Stephentown when that storm around thanksgiving hit. we got 24 inches over there and power was out for about 26 hours. my brother in the alps probably got 5-8 and there was absolutely nothing over in albany. funny how the elevation played into that one.
is that slab wood stuff you made from you splitting the rounds? sounds interesting. they have a couple of mills around here that offer slab wood. got some long ago, in long lengths and it was a pita to cut up. haven't done it since.

Yes, I made those slab splits from a log load.