is a convection stove safer for young kids than a radiant?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Winnie

May 18, 2010
Chicago, IL
Hi everyone,

I am a complete novice and I appreciate this site and your help.

We are looking for a woodstove purely for aesthetics and the fun of having a fire in the winter. (We have a gas boiler and big old-fashioned radiators, so our heating bill is not bad.) We inherited a hearth and a stove chimney from the previous owner, so we'd like to use them.

We came across the Lopi Republic and we like the simple, streamlined appearance, but I am wondering if the Answer would be a better choice because it is a convection system. I've read that these stoves don't get as hot as radiant stoves and that there is less risk of severe burns.

Also, if anyone has any other stove recommendations for those of us who just want an attractive stove with a big window for viewing the fire, I'd love to hear them. (We'd love a Wittus Shaker, but that is out of the budget.)

Thank you!

Both stoves are going to be hot to the touch. Both will burn skin. Are you worried about children near the stove?

Matt

My Endeavor has heat shields on the sides which keeps the temps lower on them so you may avoid a nasty burn. If you touch the front or the top though you will be burned quickly just like any other stove. I'm pretty sure all Lopi stoves are convection stoves.

I haven't seen any soapstone stoves (other than the crazy-expensive Wittus ones). Are they cooler?