Is My Chimney Supported by the Firebox?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

best2171

Oct 12, 2018
Eugene,OR
I am just getting started on a fireplace remodel and am removing the facing brick. I found that my firebox has a rust hole in it (we had used the fireplace last winter!). It looks like the chimney is supported by masonry around the left, right, and rear of the firebox but the only support on the front would have been the big globs of mortar between the facing brick and the firebox. Is it "normal" to have the chimney supported by the firebox itself? I have put up an album with a few started pics in it and since I am new I am not sure if it is better to post a few pics here or just refer folks over to the album. Any feedback is greatly appreciated, thanks!!

Clay liners are typically not supported by a metal firebox no. But that doesn't mean yours isnt. What are your plans after you remove the metal?