Is this a waste of wood, burn cycle?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

spadafore

Sep 4, 2008
northwest ohio
This is my first year burning, read a lot on here before starting. When I am home I sit in front of the stove and watch my rutland stove thermometer. I know it is 100 degrees off. If it says 500 degrees the actual temp. is 400. Anyways, I find myself more and more almost like an ocd tendency watching the rutland and when it gets close to falling below the burn zone I reload the stove and it climbs back up to 500 or 600 degrees. Is this a waste of wood by not letting the stove cycle all the way. As it sits right now it is 15 degrees outside, 83 in my man cave and 73 in the rest of the house. Any opinions or advice?

Is there a relationship between 5-600* and your comfort level all through the house? If so I wouldn't call it a waste of wood after all if your in and about the house it's a lot easier to maintain a warmer house than it is to get it up there...

...that's about how we burn...just in the red zone or higher. Of coarse a blower tends to cool down a stove top but still your talking about a good working fire, right?

I wouldn't 'sweat' the details so much. It's not a nuclear reactor! If you're running around the house sweating, or have windows open to vent excess heat, then you're probably wasting wood. If the temperature is what you consider 'just right' then it's not waste. Burning the stove hot tends to be the most efficient operation, if you've got use for all that heat in the house, even better.