Is this Oak

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

John B

Sep 26, 2012
Hey guys,

I've been processing my own wood for over 10 years but I have never given much thought to the species of wood and their specific seasoning time. I've lately become more interested after reading this site. I recently moved to a new property that seems to have a lot of Oak and Ive learned about how long it takes to season, so naturally now I want to ID the stuff.

I have here what I think is red oak, but not totally sure. Am I right?

Thanks

IMG_0200.jpg IMG_0201.jpg

Need more pictures and where you re located. Split it and provide end grain pics.

Both rounds from the same tree? A pic of end grain would be helpful.

Reactions: TreePointer
As others have stated, we need more pics:

- higher resolution pictures so we can zoom in on details
- butt end of logs
- splits
- any twigs with buds and leaf scars
- branches that show alternate or opposite configuration

Twigs with buds are best for determining species if you don't have attached leaves.

Right, the first pic looks like chinkapin oak, the second a type of hickory.

What the hay,, I think the first one with the thick bark is cottonwood. Not sure about this second one.

What the hay,, I think the first one with the thick bark is cottonwood. Not sure about this second one.
That definitely could be now that I’m looking again.

Reactions: Lakeside
That definitely could be now that I’m looking again.
That's why I asked if they were from the same tree. First one looks like cottonwood, second could be oak or hickory.