Jotul C450 install - elbow clearance issue w/ pics

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

FGZ

Hearth Supporter
Nov 19, 2010
N.Shore MA
Howdy y'all, I'm new to woodburning and just got my Jotul C450 installed last week. I saved some money having a guy come help me out, but the downside to that is he didn't have every possible elbow/connector/gadget that a full-service company might have, which leaves me to make the final connection in a tight spot.

Last week we dropped 6" stainless flex liner down my unlined chimney, ovalized it to fit through the damper, and got it close to the Jotul. I then shoved rock wool up between the liner and chimney to seal that off a bit. I know a backing plate may be the better way to go, that'll have to wait though.

Gratuitous poser pic:
73628_10100441036665864_8371881_68946394_6486353_n.jpg

But now I have to deal with my decision to save money: here's where my masonry clearance headache starts

photobucket is acting up for me, so the pics aren't quite right but hopefully work...
SEE THE THREE PICS IN THIS ALBUM - copy/paste between the "<>"
<http://s207.photobucket.com/albums/bb300/fgz1/House 09/>

I only have ~3.5" of room from the top of the stove opening to brick - this is a front shot
th_JOTULINSTALL006.jpg

That ledge only goes back for about an inch, then slopes up sharply as you get into the damper cavity. Side shot:
th_JOTULINSTALL008.jpg

And 3rd pic zooms out a little, from the side
th_JOTULINSTALL010.jpg

I've tried to fit an adjustable 90* elbow in there - not enough room.