Jotul F55 1 hour burn time Help!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Trunkinator

Dec 27, 2020
Ohio
Hello Everyone,.... HELP !!

-Jotul F55 Carrabassett 2020 with ReBurn tech non cat
-20ft flue, no damper, double wall insulated flue
-Rutland magnetic stove top thermometer

I'm new to operating a wood stove. My wife and I settled on the Jotul F55 as we have a 2000 sqft home and look to heat it throughout the cold spells of winter with this stove. I competed the break in process, very carefully and slowly. I've begun to burn (well try to anyway! ) at operating temp (500 - 600 deg F) i will admit, I have been very timid to load up the stove. I've been reading all day on these threads and i believe I've definitely found some of my mistakes, but I feel like I'm still doing some things wrong. Im burning Birch with a few Ash mixed in the lot at times. I'm still waiting for my cords of ash and oak to fully season and then i will move away from birch.

Like I said I've been very timid, and haven't been able to get the temp beyond 350 and active flames for more than an hour until tonight. I was initially loading 2 to 4 logs at a time and as they burned down, adding 1 to 2 more at a time.

After researching today, I finally grew the gonads and loaded 8 splits in at once, decent size splits, i would say i filled the stove a little more than 1/3. This was on a bed of hot coals.