Just beginning...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Alleycat

Feb 22, 2013
Hello all,

I am just beginning research into purchasing a pellet stove/wood stove and would appreciate any and all advice. My apologies if I am posting in the wrong forum.

We have lived here in western Mass. for 5 years and rely 100% on oil (heat and hot water). I filled our 500 gallon take this week, $1200, and last filled it at the end of November. We try to keep the house no warmer than 64 degrees.

Our home is a 1950's ranch, 1500 sq ft, with a fully finished non-walk out basement. We have a wood burning fireplace that we rarely use. Ideally, we would like a fireplace insert but don't know if this is the best, most efficient option. It seems a fireplace insert would heat the living area well, but not so sure about the rest of the house.

We had an energy audit done shortly after we moved here and told we are well insulated. We are in the process of installing new windows, started with the largest and will replace more this summer.

When is the best time of year to purchase a stove/insert? Do prices come down as winter is coming to an end?

Thank you for reading and your advice!

Welcome to the site!

If you provide the dimensions of your fireplace and it's hearth, some info on where it's located in the house and what your floor plan is like, and how willing you are to mess with firewood or if pellets are more appealing you should be able to get some good suggestions that'll save some money in the long run and keep that place a bit warmer.