Lenght of pellet stove chimney???

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by pedsdpt, Nov 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. johnnywarm

    johnnywarm
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Connecticut
    Im not talking about any smell in the house but out the end of the venting.
    I dont know how many of you have had your nose at the end of a pellet vent when it is running
    but I think it stinks. and I have been around 1000's of running stoves.
    But some people like the smell of my farts also. LOL[/quote]


    If you burn good Pellets its sweet smelling.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Xena

    Xena
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,494
    Likes Received:
    92
    Loc:
    South Shore MA
    hearthtools yep I knew exactly what you were talking about
    and like I said I never smell anything coming
    from the stack except a wood burning smell.
    Maybe something wrong with your sniffer eh?
    Guess it's a matter of opinion but you're def
    in the minority and so is the poor soul
    who likes the smell of your farts.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. pegdot

    pegdot
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Upstate, SC
    ROFL! Come on, Rod! You just made me spit coffee on my screen with that fart comment! Too funny! :bug:

    Peggy
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. eernest4

    eernest4
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    ct
    dear pedsdpt,

    I terminated my pellet stove thru the wall , but my pipe comes out about 18 inch or maybe 2 ft before terminating in a vent hood as you see in the picture. My wall never turned black, but if i did, i couldn't see it anyways because the wall is dark brown.

    I do notice ,when the wind blows just right, or maybe I should say just wrong,
    that I get ash on my car, which is a good 80 feet away from the vent & on the opposite side of the house.

    Happened several times last year but not once this year, go figure.

    If your pellet stove was lite when the power failed,without the up pipe, you might get smoke back into the house. If your stove was off,you certainly could not start it without power.

    I figure there are maybe 6 chances out of 100 that I get stuck with my pellet stove going when there is a power failure, not enough to make me change my setup.

    I bet it cost you an extra 150.oo to go up that 5 ft. I would never bother, but on the other hand, there is merit to what they say & if the power did fail while the stove was lite,you might get some natural draft, or maybe not enough, depending on the length of the up pipe.

    So,let personal preferance rule.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. johnnywarm

    johnnywarm
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Connecticut
    I figure there are maybe 6 chances out of 100 that I get stuck with my pellet stove going when there is a power failure, not enough to make me change my setup.

    I bet it cost you an extra 150.oo to go up that 5 ft. I would never bother, but on the other hand, there is merit to what they say & if the power did fail while the stove was lite,you might get some natural draft, or maybe not enough, depending on the length of the up pipe.

    So,let personal preferance rule.[/quote]


    It happened to me last year and smoke went into the cellar. thats where the stove is.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. jtp10181

    jtp10181
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,729
    Likes Received:
    3
    Loc:
    Madison, WI
    hearthtools, you made a comment about venting under a deck before. What is wrong with that?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  7. johnnywarm

    johnnywarm
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Connecticut

    My stove was installed by the dealer under my deck. we have a ranch with a walkout cellar. so the deck is for the second floor. like a raised ranch.


    We never had the sliding door open when the stove was on.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. smg64ct

    smg64ct
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    11
    Loc:
    Connecticut
    My stove is vented right outside the wall. I don't have a chimmney. This stove has been here for about 6 years (I just bought the house a year ago) I would like to have the pipe run up above the roof. If I should lose power how does the smoke get in? The door is sealed pretty tight. Also, how do I find someone who can do this? I'm in Connecticut.

    Thanks for your help.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  9. fr8tdog

    fr8tdog
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    mid maine
    Along this line, I want to put a furnace in my basement that has an existing double walled metal chimney running to it. It is a 6" diameter pipe and runs about 30' up to the roof. Specs for the furnace say 4" pipe is recommended. Is this to long or pipe to big?
     
  10. hearthtools

    hearthtools
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,021
    Likes Received:
    31
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    I Never said anything about venting under a deck
    you should never vent any pellet stove UNDER and incloser
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  11. jtp10181

    jtp10181
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,729
    Likes Received:
    3
    Loc:
    Madison, WI
    Whops... it was stoveguy2esw

    Was just curious what is bad about it? We have an install this week of a Mt Vernon AE in a basement. It will get 3-5 of rise inside then go though the wall and terminate under a deck. All clearances will be maintained and the deck is freely open underneath. I scoured the install manual while I was there and could not find anything suggesting this was a bad idea. The guy would rather get some crud on his siding than cut a hole in the deck and run the vent up through it. It would end up being one really tall chimney due to his roof pitch.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  12. hearthtools

    hearthtools
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,021
    Likes Received:
    31
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    Hey if you have 5 feet or more from the vent try it
    but I Bet in a month or so you will see some black Cob webs on the under side of the deck.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  13. johnnywarm

    johnnywarm
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Connecticut

    I just started my Big E pellet stove,i only get white smoke at the very beging and no black smoke ever. Is there something wrong??

    John
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  14. hearthtools

    hearthtools
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,021
    Likes Received:
    31
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    Just because you CANT see it does not mean it is not there.
    It will build up in time.

    and Yes the start up and shut down mode is where the most PARTICULATES come out of the stove.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  15. johnnywarm

    johnnywarm
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Connecticut

    My wall has nothing on it at all. It must be the cleanest going.the smoke stops when i see flame.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  16. Turbozcs2003

    Turbozcs2003
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    southernMaine

    I know this an old thread but can one have the vertical rise inside their home, ie 90 off back of stoce with clean out T, up 5 ft, then a 90 and go out 18-24" past the siding with a turbo cap?? Also add fresh air kit directly off back of stove, so it would be 5 ft lower??

    I am considering a pellet stove but do not want 20 ft of exterior chimney.
     
  17. packerfan

    packerfan
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    frozen tundra

    Odds are that depending on the stove, you won't need 20 feet of pipe. My englander only has a minimum required 3 ft. rise. It seems to work quite well.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page