Less Smoke at Startup Closing Damper

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mnowaczyk

Feeling the Heat
Feb 19, 2009
Delaware
I'm still a noob, and think learned something simple. I never wanted to close the damper/bypass with the doors open (before reading the manual) for fear of smoke coming in the house. After I got over this, learning that a good draft is all I need, I just started keeping the bypass closed much more. I found it interesting, by makes sense, that when I am starting a fire, and seeing smoke inside the insert, that it's because it's not hot enough. Close the top bypass, and the smoke stops instantly, and the flames get lazy, looking like a secondary burn.

Does this make sense?

Yeah, makes sence. As long as you have good draft smoke should not be an issue. Why is there a bypass damper? Is it an old cat stove?