Lopi Deerfield just installed. Smoke and smoke smell throughout house. Restrictor adjustment??

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

wildbroncgirl

Jan 31, 2022
Spring Creek Nevada
I have had some experiences with pellet stoves... some old stove - not sure of brand - in Montana. The kind you use fire gel to start. And even then the sad old thing wouldn't like to start. However it worked and kept us warm and no smoke inside and hardly any dust. And then a Quadrafire CB1200. Issues with that one (dust/soot, etc) but never put out any smoke into my house. I just had a Lopi Deerfield put in yesterday. The vendor was highly recommended and they recommended this stove or the AGP as the best out there right now. I chose the Deerfield over the AGP. I have contacted them (vendor) today about the smoke issue and they said to push in the restrictor knob at the bottom. I have read the manual over and over on getting the right flame etc. I burned it all day yesterday to get the new smell out - as per instructions. But every single time it starts up now or re-fires up - smoke and or smoke/burning smell strongly fills my house.