Lopi or Pacific Energy

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Bru71

Feb 16, 2023
PA
All,
I can’t decide between the Lopi Evergreen and the Pacific Energy Super LE. Anyone have one of these stoves? I asked the dealer his thoughts, he said he sells more Lopi than PE plus the Evergreen qualifies for tax deduction.

I have the PE super classic le. It's fantastic but from my own experience and others on here they burn a little hot. They breath well. Mine is also an ivory with black trim. Looks great.

Both are good stoves. I've been burning in the big brother of the Super for 14 yrs now. The Evergreen is relatively new, so we don't have a long history of comments, but it's well-made and of good quality. The main drawback is that the firebox is primarily an E/W loader unless you want to cut the splits to 12". The Super has a square firebox that can be loaded in either direction.

The main drawback is that the firebox is primarily an E/W loader
I don't view that as a drawback, really. Actually I kinda like being able to load different woods at different depths front to back, and have them kick it at different stages of the burn (I mostly start my fires in the front of the box, either on coals or top-down.)
If I want to kick off the entire load at once I make a trench in the ash front to back, to get the new load burning back there as well.