Low Burn on Warm days?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

whynotoils

Oct 26, 2017
Alberta Canada
I have an old LOPI wood stove. It is just cool enough to need the stove going. I also need it running for my slow cooking stew and the 8gallons of hot water for use.
I am fairly new to using a wood stove as an adult.
Any tips on how I can keep the fire going with putting the least about of heat into the house? Or is it just a burn as usual day with the windows open?

3ed018b9711fd84123f23f9bc6513470.jpg8a8f2e818463de65adee07028f0eddc1.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: rkzoo
Feed the stove less wood, but more frequently. Try just 2 splits at a time. If this also your sole source of hot water then you may need to leave a window open in mild weather.

Reactions: whynotoils
Feed the stove less wood, but more frequently. Try just 2 splits at a time. If this also your sole source of hot water then you may need to leave a window open in mild weather.
Thank you. I will try that. We do have other options for our water and cooking. We are trying to learn how to be more self sustaining.

Last edited by a moderator:
The amount of air will depend on how well seasoned the wood is and what species is being burned plus how strong the draft is. Milder weather weakens draft. Close the air down to the point where the fire still burns cleanly and doesn't smolder. If the wood is well seasoned and the flue height adequate, then you may be able to burn fine with the air about halfway closed.

On those borderline days when it is cold enough to burn, but not so cold that I need to run the stove hard I do one of two things.