Low Burn Temps in Pacific Energy 27 wood stove?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Snipe0209

Nov 29, 2010
Chattanooga TN
I am new to wood burning for heat and have some questions. Hopefully you guys can help me out some.

I am not sure what I should expect for normal temps from the stove and how large of a bed of coals I should have in the stove.

I just got a new PE27 installed about 10 days ago. I was struggling to get the stove into the 300F range the first couple of fires, and suspected it may have been due to wet wood. So I purchased a moisture meter and went to a market where there was an abundant supply of firewood from which I could choose. I examined probably two dozen ricks before I settled on one. The oak and hickory splits that I selected were gray and measured anywhere from 5%-15% moisture content according to my moisture meter.

Based on what I had read, I was confident that this would be the ticket to a warmer fire, but I am sad to say it has not been all that impressive. I am able to peak out at around 350F, but I am struggling to keep the stove about 300F. So I tried splitting the wood into smaller pieces. This does seem to help the wood to burn faster, but I was surprised to find that the moisture content at the center of the wood is still around 15%-20%. I did find some white oak which got the stove up around 450F, but I don't know that I will be able to get any more of that.