1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
  1. slick

    slick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Loc:
    Nova Scotia
    Turned my pellet stove on a week ago and the auger wasn't turning. No number is flashing. Called dealer and said it was the auger motor. He ordered a new one and said that it was easy to instal, I just finished installing it and it still doesn't work. When I turn it on nothing happens. What else could be the problem??

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. smoke show

    smoke show Guest

    What exactly does that mean? It is plugged in, right?
  3. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,499
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    Sounds like the high limit switch was triggered. Hopefully on of the cast owners can tell you how to reset it.

    Does the stove have the latest upgrades(adjustable auger cover plate and improved convection blower)?
  4. slick

    slick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Loc:
    Nova Scotia
    When the stove is turned on all you hear is a fan blowing, it's not the blower. You don't hear the auger turning at all.It has the new convection blower, installed last year. The strange thing is there's no number flashing, so you don't know what the problem is. It's FRUSTRATING!!!!
  5. vinny11950

    vinny11950 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Loc:
    Eastern Long Island, NY
    that has happened to me the last two years on the first fire of the season. for me it is the hopper switch that stops dropping pellets when the lid is open.

    usually i wiggle it, move the wires a bit and it comes back to life. pellets drop, fire happens.
  6. slick

    slick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Loc:
    Nova Scotia
    Vinny does your auger sound like its turning when this happens??? Or nothing when you turn it on??
  7. vinny11950

    vinny11950 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Loc:
    Eastern Long Island, NY
    it does not turn, which is what the switch is supposed to do, stop pellets from dropping when the lid is open. maybe it is a poor design of the switch.

    i know it is not technical, but try giving it a gentle wiggle, move the wires a bit. the switch seems to go to sleep over the summer
  8. slick

    slick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Loc:
    Nova Scotia
    I'm sorry for all the dumb questions, but which wires are you talking about?? The ones when you open the top?? Next to the reset bottom??
  9. vinny11950

    vinny11950 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Loc:
    Eastern Long Island, NY
    not sure on what side the hopper switch is on the cast model, but on the steel one i have, it is on the front right corner. you should be able to follow the position and figure out what wires correspond to it.

    try this first.

    other reason that could cause the auger not to turn (from the technical manual):

    http://www.enviro.com/images/manual...truction M55CFS Domestic Technical Manual.pdf

    5. Unit is on but auger motor does not turn at all.
    • Check the line fuse to see if it has blown.
    • Check the Door and Ash Pan door - THEY MUST BE CLOSED TIGHT.
    • If the Auger gear box does not turn but the motor’s armature does try to spin, then the auger is
    jammed. Try to break apart jam by poking at the jam through the drop tube. If this fails then empty
    the hopper and remove the Auger Cover **Remember to re-seal the cover after installation**
    • Auger stopped running. Pinch, break or blockage in Vacuum Hose - Check hose for pinch points or
    damage, replace or re-route as required. Blow out Vacuum Hose and intake pipe.
    • Damage to wires between Circuit Board and Vacuum Switch and Auger Motor - Inspect wires and
    connectors.
    • Vacuum Switch failure - Bypass the vacuum switch, if this corrects the problem check for above
    problems before replacing the Vacuum Switch.
    • Blocked exhaust / venting system - Have stove and venting cleaned and inspected.
    • Check Vacuum levels at the Vacuum Switch, with a Magnahelic Gauge (readings must be above .07”
    W.C. on low fire).
  10. slick

    slick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Loc:
    Nova Scotia
    Tried it but didn't work. Trying to fix it myself but must be something bigger. Have to call the dealer in the morning.
  11. vinny11950

    vinny11950 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Loc:
    Eastern Long Island, NY
    so the dealer just ordered the motor without taking a look at the stove first? did the dealer do any trouble shooting first before coming to the conclusion it was the motor?
  12. slick

    slick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Loc:
    Nova Scotia
    I called and told him what was happening. At first he thought I had some ventilation problem but then told him my auger wasn't turning and he then told me it must be my auger motor. He is 45 minutes away and doesn't like making home visits, told me I could install the motor myself which I did. It was fairly simple to do but still doesn't work, maybe I did it wrong but I don't think so.
  13. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13,350
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Find your high temperature snap disc and with the stove off and unplugged press the little red reset switch in the middle of it. It should go in and stay in. Then plug the stove back in and hit the on button.

    Let us know what happens and also what blower turns on.
  14. slick

    slick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Loc:
    Nova Scotia
    How far does the red bottom go in?? I pressed it and still doesn't work. I plug it in lift the top and press the power button, close the lid and nothing happens.
  15. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13,350
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    It doesn't go in all that far. Nothing at all, not even a blower starts?
  16. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13,350
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    If the combustion blower starts and the auger doesn't turn then there are a few places to look for a problem, one of them you just ruled out the high temperature snap disk.

    Other places I'd look at would be a loose door gasket or fully closed damper but I'd expect a flashing vacuum error light, the hopper lid not closed or a bad lid switch which can be jumped if there is a lid switch on the stove.
  17. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13,350
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    There are a series of fuses in the M55 that go for among other things the auger, can you tell if the auger light on your stove is flashing or not?
  18. slick

    slick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Loc:
    Nova Scotia
    I thought about the fuse, but I can't tell if its burnt or not. As far as flashing lights, there are none. The combustion blower doesn't come on either. Just the sound of a fan or something.
  19. slick

    slick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Loc:
    Nova Scotia
    Where would the auger light be??
  20. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13,350
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    On the control panel.

    The combustion blower (normally on the left hand side towards the back) has to come on and spin up to speed for the auger to work.

    Is this stove on a thermostat and if so it the thermostat has a battery has it been replaced since last season?
  21. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Vacuum?

    Was the stove cleaned top to bottom after last season? Was the vacuum line removed and blown clean?

    Another cause listed above was vacuum? Dont know if it would throw a light? But, If it does not make contact, no fuel...........
  22. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,499
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    You need to clean these? ::-)

    It doesn't throw an error code(that I can see) for vacuum fault. Could also be a fuse on the control board. It will throw the flashing 4 light for high limit being tripped. I'd follow to the tee what vinny11950 posted. It should steer you to the issue keeping it from running. The 2 in red are the likely causes!
  23. ToddO

    ToddO Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    54
    Loc:
    Mid Michigan
    I had a fuse issue last year. They all looked good but the one for the auger was bad. Even after taking it out and looking at it I still would swear it was good.
  24. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13,350
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    This is an Enviro product with a DHC controller if the #2 light is flashing there is a vacuum fault lasting more than 15 seconds according to the Enviro Service Manual and that jibes with the #2 light on my DHC 3000 gen II controller the controller on the 55 is a DHC 4110. The only time I've not seen the #2 on a vacuum fault was if the combustion blower didn't move and just made a grrr sound because the motor couldn't spin, the auger also didn't turn.

    ETA: Try spining the combustion motor by hand with the power off, this can be done using the eraser end of a pencil applied to the cooling fan blades inside the combustion blower motor case.

    Remember with the power off and only until the motor has been worked free.


    Then retry starting the stove.
  25. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13,350
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    This would be a good one for slick to just replace for giggles. Remember power off and unplugged.

Share This Page