1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Magnehelic Gauge

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Eatonpcat, Feb 2, 2013.

  1. Eatonpcat

    Eatonpcat Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,070
    Loc:
    Eaton Township, Ohio
    Could someone please post a picture of their gauge and splain to me how to use it?? I am looking to order one this evening or tomorrow. Any recommendations on which one to purchase??

    As always, thanks in advance!!:cool:

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Aquion

    Aquion Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    118
    Loc:
    Portland, CT
    Eatonpcat likes this.
  3. lbcynya

    lbcynya Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    466
    Loc:
    W Michigan
    I just put one up for sale... Old school style (less $$$), works perfectly!

    http://www.hearth.com/talk/threads/...ideal-for-checking-pellet-stove-draft.105008/

    Easy as can be to use, just need a small tube and whatever method necessary to connect to your particular stove. Since I could take my pressure measurements while the stove was cold, I used modeling clay to form a seal around the tube/hole to prevent any air leaks around the measurement hole. Ideally, you'd want a small fitting that would screw in and attache to the hose, but it's not rocket science.
  4. Eatonpcat

    Eatonpcat Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,070
    Loc:
    Eaton Township, Ohio
    Thanks guys...lbcynya,Why are you selling (dumb question, obviously you don't want it any more)?? Seems like a good price!
  5. Woody1911a1

    Woody1911a1 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    421
    Loc:
    Marblehead , Ma
    that's a really good price . same gauge as i have .
  6. lbcynya

    lbcynya Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    466
    Loc:
    W Michigan
    Really can't adjust draft (to any real extent) on my stove, so I really only need it once to see what my baseline was. So, might as well make room in the closet and let someone else use it...
    Eatonpcat likes this.
  7. Montnl

    Montnl New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Loc:
    Northwestern, MA
    I have Dwyer MARK 22 that bought in a yard sale for almost nothing. Brand new are as high as Ibcynya's. I use a rubber stopper with 1/8" brass tubing bought in ACE hardware to connect in the stove. I have to plug one of the holes for the air wash inlet and connect the meter in the other hole to get better readings. When the 25-PI is cold readings go to 0.3" and hot go to 0.13 - 0.15", anything below 0.10" means the stove or burn pot needs cleaning even with the flame looking good.
    Eatonpcat likes this.
  8. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,167
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    Here's a magnehelic from the Harman Pellet Training Handbook & some basic instructions on its usage...

    Attached Files:

  9. Eatonpcat

    Eatonpcat Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,070
    Loc:
    Eaton Township, Ohio
    Thanks...
    DAKSY likes this.
  10. Eatonpcat

    Eatonpcat Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,070
    Loc:
    Eaton Township, Ohio

    Received yesterday as good or better than described!! Thanks 'lbcynya'. Now to figured out how to use it!!
  11. Joe and Kelly Tomeno

    Joe and Kelly Tomeno Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Loc:
    NY
    I see them on ebay and it says measures water...are these the same?
  12. Woody1911a1

    Woody1911a1 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    421
    Loc:
    Marblehead , Ma
    yes vacuum in inches of water .
  13. Woody1911a1

    Woody1911a1 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    421
    Loc:
    Marblehead , Ma
    go to the enviro web site and download the service manual .
    Eatonpcat likes this.
  14. Bioburner

    Bioburner Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    3,510
    Loc:
    West central Mn
    inches of water, alot less than psi. I have a liquid one on a radon mitigation system.
  15. ironpony

    ironpony Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,791
    Loc:
    mid-ohio via St.Croix USVI
    wish I would of seen this sooner I would of sent you one. I have quite a few around the shop doing nothing
  16. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,490
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    You prolly won't have many for long! ;)
    Eatonpcat likes this.
  17. Eatonpcat

    Eatonpcat Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,070
    Loc:
    Eaton Township, Ohio
    Thanks, I appreciate the thought...It was only $37, so it didn't hurt the pocket book!
  18. reg1952

    reg1952 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Loc:
    Guelph Ont.
    I mounted mine on the wall behind the stove and teed into the line going to the vacumm switch.I can see what its doing any time.
  19. Woody1911a1

    Woody1911a1 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    421
    Loc:
    Marblehead , Ma
    that will not give you the correct reading on on enviro stove !
  20. Woody1911a1

    Woody1911a1 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    421
    Loc:
    Marblehead , Ma
    there is a port(hole) you need to take the reading at . download the service manual .
    Eatonpcat likes this.
  21. smalltown

    smalltown Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    513
    Loc:
    Western Maine
    Can a magnehelic be used on Quadrafire Castile stoves? I am not aware of a test port?
  22. reg1952

    reg1952 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Loc:
    Guelph Ont.
    Yes you are right.But what I did was take a reading from the test hole and set the damper.Then I teed into the line at the back.My reading is about .1 inch off the spec.. I just make sure it stays in that new range.
    jtakeman likes this.
  23. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,490
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    Sure you can tee it into the vacuum switch hose. But there is no damper adjustment on the quads. So it would be for giggles and maybe keeping tabs on your venting.
    Eatonpcat likes this.

Share This Page