Metal chimney liner...do i need this?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

burnwood

Hearth Supporter
Sep 6, 2008
Western, MA
I cleaned my chimneys today, one of which has a 6 inch round metal liner in it. I installed the liner last year, and this is my first time cleaning it. At the botttom there is the T that goes into the wood stove, and on the bottom of the T is a cap. I pulled that cap off so the crosote could fall down through. My question is, do I have to put that cap back on? Its kinda difficult for me to do, but I really don't see a purpose. Theres about three feet between where that cap goes and the bottom/clean out of the chimney. Can't I just leave the cap off? It'd be much like a normal chimney.

Yes, the cap is absolutely necessary.

Your chimney will draft very very poorly with all the cold air entering it form the open cap. If even a small air leak can have an effect on draft, imagine what that would do.

hmmmm....I guess I'm going to have to get the cap on. Then it sounds like it'd be pretty important to keep the clean out door closed on the bottom of every normal chmney, huh? Mine don't work too well and could be open all winter for all I know. I'll have to see to that too. This would give the same effect as leaving the cap off the bottom of my liner, right?

I smeared refractory cement all around my cap on the bottom of the t for my liner. When I clean the liner, I simply remove the stove pipe from the t thimble and vacuum out the junk.