My Dovre DV750 propane stove won't stay lit

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

dv750

Dec 23, 2009
NorCal
Newbie here with a problem I'm hoping you can help me with. Last night my stove sudden un-lit and the pilot went out, so I relit the pilot and turned the stove back on. Within about 10 minutes it went out again, so I turned it off for the night.

After dawn this morning I pulled the chimney cap and shined a light down the hole...no blockage and I could see all the way down to the firebox. I then relit the pilot, but had to hold the button down for 5 minutes before it would stay lit. The flame turned on right away when I flipped the switch on the back of the unit, but both the flame and the pilot went out when I turned the switch off.

This afternoon the pilot won't stay lit no matter how long I hold the button in (up to 10 minutes). With the pilot on I get a rock-steady 515 mvdc from the TP leads. The leads go to the ~.25" thick TP to the left of the pilot hood in the attached photo. There is a skinny TP-like probe to the right of the pilot hood. That device doesn't have electrical leads, but has to be hot for the pilot to stay lit, same as the TP.

Any suggestions about how to proceed would be appreciated. I have already called the fireplace dealer in town this stove came from, and they said they no longer carry Dovre and will not work on it.

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• Thermopile.jpg
    Thermopile.jpg
    19.6 KB · Views: 1,856
If the Pilot won't stay lit, you probably need to replace the thermocouple.