My first year & just picked up my first ton.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

blueshawk1

Oct 2, 2010
Upstate NY
I'm a newbie here and in the corn/pellet burning world too.
We bought our first stove this year, a St. Croix Lancaster - it's size was what we needed for the space we had to put it in, and we like it too. We got lucky too, someone had bought two last year and decided they didn't need the second one and had it up for sale on craigslist, we got it for a 1000., brand new and unused.
I got it all hooked up last week and and this past weekend, fired it up for the first time - all went smooth, I either got very lucky or did a good job of following instructions.

It's a multifuel stove, I plan on burning a mix of pellets and corn. The people we got it from said that's what they do, it kept the clinker from sticking. I bought a ton of corn, which fortunately, I don't have to haul home and store, they store it for you, you just stop and get bags as you need them. Today, I went and bought a ton of pellets, that I had to haul home and store. We have it on the front porch (it's enclosed). Never having gotten a ton of anything before, I didn't know what to expect, would it all fit in my truck, would it be hard on it? I didn't know. But they just loaded the pallet on the back and I brought it on home, and the truck handled it fine (it's an 8 cyl Dodge Ram 1500).

Sooooo, supposedly we should be all ready for the cold weather that's blowing in here already (only supposed to be a high of 55 today - ugh!).

Here's a pic;

stove0524a.gif